Springtime in Mississippi

Sunday morning, it was in the 70’s without a cloud in the sky. I love to cook outside, so I set up my electric skillet (Amazon) outside to make hash browns, eggs and bacon.

Not too long ago, I bought a spiralizer from Amazon, to cut veggies. I have used it quite a bit, and it works great with potatoes.So I got to work peeling the potatoes for my hash browns. After they were peeled (I used 1 large potato and 2 medium-small ones for 2 people) then I used the sprializer with the next to the smallest blade. After the potatoes were prepared, I turned the electric skillet on to 350 degrees and put 2 tablespoons of butter in it to melt.

When the butter was melted, I put in the potatoes, placed the grill press on top of them and covered the skillet with the lid. After about 20 minutes, check the bottom of the potatoes (be careful and use a mitt, the metal top of the grill press gets very hot). If the bottom is brown, flip them over using a silicone implement. You will need a trivet or a cork protector on the counter next to the skillet to put the hot grill press and the large skillet lid on while you are moving the potatoes around.

After I flipped the potatoes, I went ahead and put some bacon, cut in half, in with the potatoes, I wanted the bacon and potatoes to be ready to eat at the same time, and I thought the bacon fat would just add to the deliciousness of the hash browns. I also added salt and pepper to the potatoes.

Once the potatoes and the bacon were done, I took them out and cooked the eggs to order. I felt like a short order cook, but what a great place to be one, right on the water, surrounded by nature, with only myself and my husband for customers.

Most of my tools, as you can see below, came from Amazon. I’m not really sure where I bought the Staub grill press. I googled it, and the price I found was $99 which I know I would not have paid. I probably got it at Home Goods or T J Maxx.

Sorry there are no pictures of the finished meal, we gobbled it down too quickly.

Cuisinart CSK-250WS GreenGourmet 14-Inch Nonstick Electric Skillet

81heqwjqe3l-_sl1500_

Spiralizer 5-Blade Vegetable Slicer, Strongest-and-Heaviest Duty, Best Veggie Pasta & Spaghetti Maker

61ybvbm7eql-_sl1024_

Staub 1203123 12″ Grill Press w/ Ridges On Bottom & Cast Iron

103-1203123_large32149884624_2a189f0b30_o.jpg

Leave a comment