Pickles are not my Friend, and Other Musings

Last night, we finally got around to watching the opening episode of Steven King’s “Under the Dome'”. We listened to this very long book on cd during various trips back and forth to the beach. It was a riveting read/listen, and at the time my husband and I commented that it would make a great movie. I have read that it is hoped that the series will be picked up, and so they are gearing it as ongoing. There will be some changes from the finite book. The first episode had some gory special effects which since we both enjoy “The Walking Dead”, were not a problem.

20130629-092348.jpg
The problem was that I had been hungry all day. Even though I had eaten a delicious dinner of half grilled tofu and half grilled flank steak, broccoli and salad, I still could have eaten a horse. I went ahead and had my snack of decaf coffee and vanilla pudding, but still I was pretty hungry. Maybe it was the cinnamon rolls with icing that my sweetie baked, or the gold fish he ate during the show. I finally gave in and had some dill pickles. They may be satisfying and have no calories, but in the morning, I alway pay for them with no weight loss and not being able to pass the old “wedding ring” test. Since I hate to wear rings, I rarely wear my wedding ring unless I am leaving the house. Now that I have lost 16-17 lbs., the ring slips on nice and loosely, until I have pickles or too much salt in other forms. This is why it has become an effective test of my fluid retention.

Okay, my dear husband, I know you are reading this and feeling guilty. Please don’t. I need these tests to my self control, and usually isn’t really even a struggle. I’m not sure what made last night different. Also, I want you to be able to eat what you want, when you want. You should not have to suffer for my years of overindulgence, and for your superior genetic ability to maintain a healthy weight (no matter how much you eat like a teenaged boy, I am so jealous).

Ah well, on to other subjects. I always check out multiple fiction and nonfiction books from the library and skip back in forth, reading a little in one, and moving to another, and then going back to the first. Several years ago, our Borders bookstore (and then the whole corporation, shortly thereafter) closed, so now it takes more of an effort to go to the bookstore whereas the library is very close. So now I save money, and often read things that I would not normally buy.

Right now, in addition to the book on music, I am reading “Consider the Fork, a History of How We Cook and Eat” by Bee Wilson. Ms Wilson sounds fascinating, she is a British food writer and historian with a Ph.D from Cambridge where she and her family now live. She wrote that though we as a species had been cooking with fire for over 100,000 years, the clay pots only date back 9 or 10 thousand years ago. It was looked upon as so magical that early potters were often considered shamans in early cultures. How fascinating, I still look at potters like that since I am unable to make even the most rudimentary pot. How many ladies around my age watched the movie “Ghost”, and signed up for a pottery class, only to find it was nothing like the movie. It was frustrating and difficult. I so admire potters.

Gosh, it’s almost 9:30. This is my working weekend, so I better get to it.

20130629-092216.jpg

Leave a comment